Minutes of 69th Annual General Body Meeting of IIT Roorkee Alumni Association Held At 3:00 Pm on November 17, 2018 In Multi-Activity Centre, IIT Roorkee.

The following were present:

Er. B. K. Chaturvedi
Prof. A. K. Chaturvedi
Dr. Achal Mittal
Prof. B. R. Gurjar
Morking President & Director, IITR
Vice-President
Dean of Resources & Alumni Affairs
Ide other members
Fr. Vikas Goyal
President, IITRAA
Vice-President
Dean of Resources & Alumni Affairs
Honorary Secretary

No apologies for absence were received.

The meeting started with welcome by Er. Vikas Goyal, Honorary Secretary followed by KULGEET. Thereafter, members noted with great sorrow and homage was paid to the following members who have left for their heavenly abode:

- 1. Prof. D.V. Singh BE Mechanical 1956
- 2. Sri Mehul Priydarshi BTech Mechanical 2014
- 3. Mr. Rajesh Girilal Jain BE Chemical 1986
- 4. Dr. Ashok V. Chaturvedi BE Civil 1963
- 5. Sri Subodh Prakash Agarwal BE Chemical 1975
- 6. Ar. Devavrat Singh B. Arch. 2000
- 7. Gyan Swaroop Anand A.k.a Prof. G. D. Agarwal
- 8. Ar. Vikas Singh B. Arch 1996
- 9. Er. Rakesh Mittal, BE 1970
- 10. Er. Arun Kumar Katiyar BE Civil 1993
- 11. Er. Krishna Kumar Gupta BE Civil 1993
- 12. Er. Bhanu Prakash BE Civil 1993
- 13. Er. Sushil Kumar BE Civil 1993
- 14. Er. Kunal Kant BE Ind 1993
- 15. Er. Sanjay Kumar Yadav BE E&C 1993
- 16. Er. Mahesh Chand BE Chem 1993
- 17. Dr. Madhav Bhattachaya, BE (Mech.) 1966

The members stood in silence for two minutes to pay respect to the departed souls.

- Dr. Achal Mittal Vice-President welcomed the members to the 69th Annual General Meeting of the association, particularly the Silver Jubilee Alumni.
- Er. N.K. Sharma, Treasurer, introduced Er. B. K. Chaturvedi, President, IIT Roorkee Alumni Association to the house and requested him to address the gathering.
- Er. Dinesh Singh Pawar, Joint Secretary, introduced Prof. A. K. Chaturvedi, Director, IIT Roorkee to the house and welcomed the gathering on behalf of '93 Batch. He then requested Prof. A. K. Chaturvedi to address the gathering.

The book titled 'Memori93- 25 years Reunion' brought out by 1993 Alumni was released on this occasion. The book has been edited by Kapil Puri, Rohit Prasad and Vikas Kakwani of 1993 Batch who came up on the stage and released the book along with all the dignitaries present on the dais.

Prof. A.K. Chaturvedi, Director, IIT Roorkee had to leave the GBM after the book release due to his pre-scheduled meeting.

The agenda for the AGBM was then taken up as follows:

- 69.1 The minutes of the 68th Annual General Body meeting held on November 11, 2017 were approved and confirmed.
- 69.2 The minutes of the Extraordinary General Body meeting held on February 17, 2018 were approved and confirmed.
- 69.3 The Annual Report for the period from November 01, 2017 to October 31, 2018 as presented by Er. Vikas Goyal, Honorary Secretary was accepted and approved.
- 69.4 The Annual accounts of the Association as audited by M/S Awasthi Prakash and Associates, Roorkee for the period from April 01, 2017 to March 31, 2018 were considered and approved.
- 69.5 Considered appointment of auditors to audit accounts of the association from the period April 01, 2018 to March 31, 2019 and
 - RESOLVED that M/S Awasthi Prakash & Associates Roorkee be re-appointed as Auditors to audit the accounts of the association for the period from April 01, 2018 to March 31, 2019

- 69.6 The budget estimates (income & expenditure of the Association) for the year 2019-20 were considered and approved as stated at Appendix 5
- 69.7 Considered initiative by IITRAA to generate an Endowment Fund and
 - RESOLVED that IITRAA may take a lead and generate an Endowment Fund and the modalities for its implementation may be decided in due course of time.
- 69.8 Considered that the Director IIT Roorkee to be Patron of the IIT Roorkee Alumni Association and
 - RESOLVED that the henceforth Director IIT Roorkee will be the PATRON of the IITRAA and further resolved that with designating the Director, IITR as Patron, the position of Working President IITRAA will get abolished and the bye-laws stand modified to this extent.
- 69.9 Report on the elections to the Executive Committee for the term 2018-20 was noted.
- 69.10 Considered the restructuring of Executive Committee on area based restrictions on some positions on age & experience requirements (Min. & Max.), number of elected & nominated members as well as in view of changed role and need to visit/open new chapters of IITRAA and
 - RESOLVED that the proposal be approved in principle and the Working Group may work out details and the same be circulated to members by e-mode for approval.
- 69.11 Considered few amendments proposed in the Aims & Objectives stated in the Memorandum, keeping in view the new role and responsibilities of IITRAA and
 - RESOLVED that the following amendments / additions in the existing Aims & Objectives given in the Memorandum be approved as decided in the Extraordinary meeting of GB held on 17.2.2018 and circulated to all members after lapse of specified period as mentioned in the constitution

Existing Clause no. 4(b) in Memorandum:

To encourage the Alumni to take abiding interest in the progress and development of the Alma Mater.

Clause no. 4 (b) to be replaced by the following:

"To encourage the Alumni, individually and collectively, to support the progress and development of Alma Mater in its pursuit of excellence"

To insert the following in the existing "Aims & Objectives":

- 4(g) To support activities resulting in the welfare of Alumni, students and faculty as and when required
- 4(h) To create and establish Alumni Endowment Fund to render financial aid to deserving alumni or alumni family members (in case of sudden untimely demise of the alum) on case to case basis of extreme compassionate circumstances.

Er. Vikas Goyal, Honorary Secretary thanked all members and other guests for participating in the meeting and taking part in the deliberations.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair